The president you thought you knew was someone else, writes Henry Olsen in The Working Class Republican: Ronald Reagan and the Return of Blue-Collar Conservatism.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Olsen argues that conservatives fundamentally have misunderstood their favorite president–and now they must come to grips with the fact that he was in his heart a New Dealer as well as the fact that President Trump is more an inheritor of Reagan’s legacy than they previously have recognized.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

In the tradition of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor comes Peter Kirsanow, author of the debut novel Target Omega.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Kirsanow describes the plot and hero of his new thriller, explains how his service as an appointee to federal commissions in Washington prepared him to write this book, and reveals whether he now plans to have a second career as a novelist.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Is it science fiction, fantasy, or a time-travel steampunk adventure story? Neal Stephenson and Nicole Galland have included all of this and more in their new novel, The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Stephenson and Galland discuss what they mean by “D.O.D.O.,” its connection to the extinct bird, and the difference between magic and technology. Stephenson also explains why his books run so long: This one comes in at about 750 pages, making it one of his shorter efforts.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

They were the indispensable men of the Cold War, says Paul Kengor in A Pope and a President: John Paul II, Ronald Reagan, and the Extraordinary Untold Story of the 20th Century.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Kengor discusses the friendship of these two men, whether the Soviet Union would have collapsed without them, and what the three secrets of Fatima had to do with it.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Ben Sasse may be a senator, but his new book isn’t about politics. It’s about growing up and it’s called The Vanishing American Adult: Our Coming-of-Age Crisis and How to Rebuild a Culture of Self-Reliance.

In a short conversation with The Bookmonger, Sasse describes the problem of perpetual adolescence, argues that kids need to work, and suggests that this is an area in which conservatives and liberals may be able to find common ground.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

They’re America’s most misunderstood voting bloc — and Joan Williams explains who they are and what they want in White Working Class: Overcoming Class Cluelessness in America.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Williams explains what professional elites fail to grasp about the white working class, how their ignorance fueled the political rise of Donald Trump, and whether these voters will stay loyal to the man they helped elect to the presidency.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Barry Sadler recorded one of the biggest pop-song smash hits in American history — and Marc Leepson tells his fascinating story in Ballad of the Green Beret: The Life and Wars of Staff Sergeant Barry Sadler from the Vietnam War and Pop Stardom to Murder and an Unsolved, Violent Death.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Leepson describes how and why Sadler’s song “The Ballad of the Green Berets” struck a nerve in 1966, what happened to Sadler in the aftermath of his huge success, and whether Sadler ever had second thoughts about the Vietnam War.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!