Who were the Maya and what did they believe? Oswaldo Chinchilla Mazariegos explains in Art and Myth of the Ancient Maya.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Chinchilla describes what compelled him to devote his professional life to the study of these ancient people, what the images they put on vases and murals tells us about them, and why they become a “lost civilization.”

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

How did a woman who loved poetry as a student at Hillsdale College become one of the 20th century’s great cryptanalysts? Jason Fagone tells the remarkable story of Elizebeth Smith Friedman in The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine who Outwitted America’s Enemies.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Fagone describes how fondness for Shakespeare turned a young woman into a codebreaker, how she hunted fascist agents during the Second World War, and how she and her husband were present at the creation of the National Security Agency.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Becoming a papal biographer will change your life–or so it seems, judging from George Weigel‘s Lessons in Hope: My Unexpected Life with St. John Paul II.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Weigel defends his claim that the late pope was “the emblematic figure of the second half of the 20th century,” and suggests what he might say to Americans in 2017, if he could give one more homily.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

It’s a novel of faith, freedom, and forgiveness says John E. Kramer, author of Blythe.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Kramer explains how and why he wrote the book, whether fiction can accomplish goals that nonfiction cannot, and why he picked this for an epigraph: “One of mankind’s greatest sins is inaction in the face of injustice.”

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Was he a kind man who did his best for Russia or a reactionary tyrant who despised the Russian people? Robert Service takes on both of these questions in The Last of the Tsars: Nicholas II and the Russian Revolution.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Service describes the revolution of 1917 as well as the execution of Nicholas and his family in 1918. He also addresses rumors that members of the Romanov family may have survived and what Americans in 2017 can learn about Russia today from its history.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Kyle Mills continues the story of American assassin Mitch Rapp, the hero invented by the late Vince Flynn, in Enemy of the State.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Mills describes his unusual collaboration with an author who died four years ago, what it’s like to continue a series started by another writer, and how much research goes into each of his thrillers.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

America in the late 19th century looks a lot like the America of 2017, says Richard White, author of The Republic for Which It Stands: The United States during Reconstruction and the Gilded Age, 1865-1896.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, White discusses what drew him to write about “historical flyover country,” why Reconstruction went so poorly, and whether President Lincoln might have made things turn out differently if he had lived past 1865.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Studies of Paul may be the liveliest area of biblical scholarship today, says Paula Fredriksen, author of Paul: The Pagans’ Apostle.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Fredriksen describes why Paul was so important to early Christianity, how we know what we know about his life and times, whether he’d be surprised that the end times still have not come, and what he must have been like to meet in person.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Was Churchill a drunk? Richard M. Langworth insists he wasn’t in Winston Churchill, Myth and Reality: What He Actually Did and Said.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Langworth describes Churchill’s drinking habits and addresses the accusations that Churchill exacerbated the 1943 famine in Bengal. He also recommends biographies of Churchill and offers his assessment of the new film Dunkirk.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Americans in the 21st century can learn a lot from an Elizabethan Englishman who wrote about classical Rome. That’s what Paul A. Cantor says in Shakespeare’s Roman Trilogy: The Twilight of the Ancient World.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Cantor describes what he’s learned about Shakespeare over a lifetime of teaching his works, what he thinks of the recent production of “Julius Casear” that features a decapitation of a Trump-like character, and why he believes “Breaking Bad” is the greatest TV show of all time.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Edwin Stanton was President Lincoln’s indispensable man, says Walter Stahr, author of Stanton: Lincoln’s War Secretary.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Stahr explains how Stanton helped the Union achieve victory, whether he was wrong to arrest draft dodgers and journalists, and why Stahr writes that he “was not a good man, but he was a great man.” He also takes aim at the conspiracy theorists who claim that Stanton help plot Lincoln’s murder.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Flannery O’Connor was a great writer of literature, but was she also a political figure? That’s the claim of Henry T. Edmondson III, editor of A Political Companion to Flannery O’Connor.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Edmondson explains why people still enjoy O’Connor’s work today, why conservatives hold her in special regard, and how she and Russell Kirk shared a concern over “misguided humanitarianism.” For those new to O’Connor, Edmondson also suggests a couple of places to start reading.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

In his new book, False Black Power?, Jason L. Riley says that the civil-rights movement made a mistake when it choose political advancement over economic opportunity.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Riley explains why the political success of African Americans hasn’t translated into gains in human capital, what black politics should aim to accomplish in the 21st century, and why he put a question mark in his book’s title.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

He was once “one of the most widely known American writers at home and abroad,” writes Christoph Ir>mscher in his new biography, Max Eastman: A Life. So whatever happened to Max Eastman?

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Irmscher describes the life of Eastman (1883-1969), a public intellectual who started out as a political radical but then moved to the right, eventually becoming a contributor to National Review. He suggests that Eastman was the Christopher Hitchens of his time and makes the case for rediscovering Eastman today.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

Carl Cannon writes about “the degraded conditions of our dysfunctional, rude, hair-on-fire politics”–but also says they’ve been pretty bad before, in On This Date: Discovering America One Day at a Time.

In a 10-minute conversation with the Bookmonger, Cannon describes how this book was born from the morning emails he writes as Washington Bureau Chief of RealClearPolitics, how he tells the story of America with an unconventional narrative, and why being American comes to us as a gift but turns into an obligation.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

The Wall Street Journal publishes a legendary editorial page–and George Melloan reveals its history from the inside with Free People, Free Markets: How the Wall Street Journal Opinion Pages Shaped America.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Melloan describes the issues that animate the Journal’s opinion section, how the editors select the topics they cover, and whether he’d encourage young people to pursue careers in journalism.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

George Washington was a warrior and a farmer and a leader. Was he also a reader? Kevin J. Hayes says “yes,” in George Washington: A Life in Books.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Hayes discusses what Washington liked to read, whether he felt intimidated around great minds such as Jefferson and Hamilton, and why nobody has written an intellectual biography of him.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

The president you thought you knew was someone else, writes Henry Olsen in The Working Class Republican: Ronald Reagan and the Return of Blue-Collar Conservatism.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Olsen argues that conservatives fundamentally have misunderstood their favorite president–and now they must come to grips with the fact that he was in his heart a New Dealer as well as the fact that President Trump is more an inheritor of Reagan’s legacy than they previously have recognized.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

The world is more dangerous today than it was just a year ago, says Brad Thor, author of the new thriller, Use of Force.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Thor describes the inspiration for his latest page-turner, discusses the usefulness of “black contracts,” and tells why he thinks the Burning Man festival is an obvious target for terrorists.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

In the tradition of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor comes Peter Kirsanow, author of the debut novel Target Omega.

In a 10-minute conversation with The Bookmonger, Kirsanow describes the plot and hero of his new thriller, explains how his service as an appointee to federal commissions in Washington prepared him to write this book, and reveals whether he now plans to have a second career as a novelist.

More

Please Support Our Sponsor!

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10