Another smackdown between David and Rich on The Editors, only this time it’s over the NBA. On a more serious note, Rich, Charlie, Michael, and David discuss the meltdown of Virginia Democrats and takeaways from Trump’s SoTU. They finish up by cover immigration and Elizabeth Warren in all exit-question round.

Editors’ picks:
• Rich: Jonah Goldberg’s cover piece in the new magazine issue.
• David: Ben Shapiro on forgiveness.
• Charlie: Kevin Williamson’s “The Politics of Manifest Destiny.”
• MBD: Armond White on Brawl in Cell Block 99.

Light items:
• Rich: Talkin’ Yanks podcast.
• David: The glorious NBA trade deadline.
• Charlie: Ordeal by Innocence on Amazon Prime.
• MBD: Marvelous Ms. Maisel on Amazon Prime.

The Editors is hosted by Rich Lowry and produced by Sarah Schutte.

You can access the full archive of The Editors at NationalReview.com/podcasts, where you can listen to four episodes per month for free, or get the entire back catalogue with an NR Plus membership. Visit NationalReview.com/subscribe for details.

Subscribe to The Editors in iTunes (and leave a 5-star review, please!), or by RSS feed. For all our podcasts in one place, subscribe to the Ricochet Audio Network Superfeed in iTunes or by RSS feed.

There are 9 comments.

  1. Ralphie Member

    The first season on Mrs. Maisel was much better than the second.

    • #1
    • February 7, 2019, at 2:03 PM PST
    • 1 like
  2. Joe D. Lincoln

    What would be great if we could a nice statement (preferrably with video) on how awful Kavanaugh is by Lt. Gov Fairfax.

    • #2
    • February 7, 2019, at 2:05 PM PST
    • 1 like
  3. JuliaBlaschke Coolidge

    I didn’t like Charlie getting cut off near the end. Poor editing by The Editors. The last thing anyone needs is more talk about the Yankees or the NBA.

    • #3
    • February 8, 2019, at 7:28 AM PST
    • 1 like
  4. Leslie Watkins Member

    I’m 65 and a native of Louisiana and just do not understand David French’s idea that southerners knew in 1984 that to dress in blackface was horrendous. I wouldn’t have because I was very civil rights oriented, but in segregated spaces, it was not all that unusual to see someone dressed in blackface. It didn’t mean they were racists, just un-evolved. What about all the comedians we’re now finding out have dressed in blackface in much more recent years? Did they know how horrible it was and just not care? Joy Behar (loathsome but somewhat honest) is now getting grief for dressing up as Cleopatra because she darkened her skin to do so but also looked far more glamorous than she does in real life. This is beyond absurd. I certainly hope my value never depends on David’s impression of a picture of me from 35 years ago.

    I’m with Charlie and Rich on Northam’s status. It is happy-making to me, though, that karma is slapping him in the face and that the perpetrators of all this social carnage are black and white, young and old, woke and unwoke.

    • #4
    • February 8, 2019, at 12:10 PM PST
    • Like
  5. Jerry Giordano (Arizona Patrio… Member

    I find Mr. French’s comments about blackface bizarre. Did he not watch Blazing Saddles? Did he not watch Gene Wilder in blackface in Silver Streak? Did he not watch Eddie Murphy and Arsenio Hall in whiteface in Coming to America? What about Robert Downey Jr. in Tropic Thunder?

    This was common in the culture, and viewed as funny. It’s still funny. It is not a vicious or malicious or contemptuous joke, as Mr. French claims.

    So does he think that Gene Wilder is vicious and malicious? Downey?

    Conservatives complain, correctly in my view, that the radical left has made a great deal of humor impermissible. It is very disappointing to see Mr. French joining their side.

    I think that Mr. Cook has the right view. I like seeing the Dems hoist on their own petard, even if I think there’s something very wrong with that petard.

    • #5
    • February 9, 2019, at 12:03 PM PST
    • 1 like
  6. Jerry Giordano (Arizona Patrio… Member

    So I got through 41:44 on the podcast, and I can’t go on.

    It is very disturbing to me that I cannot stand to listen to the NR editors. The problem may be them, or it may be me. I think that it is them. In fairness, not all of them.

    MBD seems a reasonably bright guy, and it’s his job to evaluate and analyze current events from a generally Conservative perspective. Then I hear him complain about the WWII focus of the President’s speech, and express an inability to understand it.

    This is overwhelmingly frustrating to me. Let me try to explain it, Mr. Dougherty. 

    President Trump ran on what platform, exactly? Make America Great Again. MAGA, you know. Those hats that guys like you can’t stand.

    The response of the Left and almost the entire Democratic Party has been that this is unbelievably offensive, that America has never been great. In fact, they say, America is a horrible, evil, racist, sexist, anti-gay, anti-trans place, and it’s a wonder that anyone can stand living here. They actually equate the MAGA hats with Klan hoods.

    So the President does this grand speech, opening by looking forward to the 75th anniversary of the Normandy invasion, and ending with the Holocaust survivor standing side-by-side with a hero who stormed those beaches and then personally helped liberate Dachau.

    That’s the Great that we want to Make America Again.

    How can one be so obtuse as to fail to see this?

    Sorry to be so frustrated. I would think that even a brain-dead Liberal would get a glimmer of the point. But a National Review editor cannot. AAARGH!!!

    • #6
    • February 9, 2019, at 12:18 PM PST
    • 2 likes
  7. David Bryan Member

    “….So the President does this grand speech, opening by looking forward to the 75th anniversary of the Normandy invasion, and ending with the Holocaust survivor standing side-by-side with a hero who stormed those beaches and then personally helped liberate Dachau.

    That’s the Great that we want to Make America Again.

    How can one be so obtuse as to fail to see this?

    Sorry to be so frustrated. …..”

     

    Excellent, Arizona Patriot. Thank you.

    • #7
    • February 9, 2019, at 4:22 PM PST
    • Like
  8. The Cloaked Gaijin Member

    Charlie Cooke said that Northam is a good guy.

    I was waiting for someone to say, “Well, as long as you make home from the hospital…”

    Interesting that the “abortion” was never mentioned.

    • #8
    • February 10, 2019, at 1:48 AM PST
    • 1 like
  9. rdowhower Coolidge

    David French comes across more and more as a whining weenie. Maybe I still don’t forgive him for when he thought same-sex marriage was acceptable. I really wish he would preface all of his podcasts with this admission so listeners have all the facts before them and hold him accountable for things he said years ago.

    • #9
    • February 11, 2019, at 6:36 AM PST
    • Like